Upcoming Colorado Wedding at The Lionsgate Center: Duane & Lindsey

Introducing the beautiful Lindsey and Duane

hake_ottema_high-0019 hake_ottema_high-0025

Lindsey and Duane will be tying the knot on June 28th 2013!

Where did it all begin?

“Duane and I met at the hospital that we both currently work at.  I was starting my senior practicum of nursing school in the ICU.  I met Duane my first night while waiting for an open heart patient to return from the operating room.  A group of us were talking about scuba diving while we waited; a hobby Duane and I both have in common.  My preceptor at the time told Duane that when you dive you get to meet pretty girls.  Her sly way of trying to initiate something between the two of us.  Duane and I started of meeting and exchanging small talk that first night.  Following that he seemed to avoid me like the plague.  I had heard from fellow co-workers he wanted to ask me out but never did.  He was being a gentleman and wanted to respect that I was there to learn not to date.  A couple weeks later I finally took it upon myself to call Duane while at work to give him my number since he had yet to ask for it.  A move that embarrassed him and as I am told made him turn bright red in one of his patients rooms.  That night Duane made his way to see me and officially asked for my number.  We went on a few lunch dates following that and then eventually had our official first date.  One that I couldn’t have imagined to go better:  Catch in the park, Cold Stone ice cream, Wii bowling, sushi dinner, and dancing.  A perfect beginning to our story.”

Time well spent

“We have known each other for just under 2 years (about a year and 8 months).  We have been dating for just over a year and a half. ”

Tell us how he proposed!

“We were spending the weekend in Newcastle, Wyoming at his parent’s house.  Duane had planned to take me to Spearfish Canyon, South Dakota to see the waterfalls even though I was feeling sick.  The first stop was Roughlock Falls.  While walking down the trail we actually came across a small wedding ceremony; a site that was fitting considering the events that were to follow.  We continued along the trail to the bottom of the falls.  While enjoying the beautiful site Duane surprised me by getting down on one knee and asking me to marry him.  My was response was “Are you serious?”To which Duane replied “I’m on one knee with a ring… I am pretty serious.”  The obvioius answer was yes.  We celebrated alone for a few moments in front of the falls then made our way back up the trail.  The rest of the day was spent enjoying lunch and site seeing in Spearfish and then making our was back to Newcastle to share the news with family and friends.”

Why did you decide on the Dove House?

“When trying to find a venue we wanted to pick a place that took a lot of the pressure off of us as far as planning and finding vendors.  Lionsgate has definitely accomplished that for us thus far.  The planning process has been really enjoyable and stress free.  We chose the Dove House specifically because we loved the unique, vintage feel of the layout; an area that is cozy yet accommodates a large group of people.  We did not want the typical ballroom type reception.  We are also big dancers and having a designated dance area was definitely a plus for us.  Having a space that also offers and outdoor ceremony site and indoor reception in one location was a plus with all the out of town guests that will be coming.  I am incredibly excited for the big day and can’t wait to see how everything turns out.”

LET US HELP YOU MAKE YOUR WEDDING DREAMS COME TRUE!

At Lionsgate, we are not “just the facility,” we are a group of women (and a few guys) that really know weddings inside and out.
We’re full of ideas, suggestions and methods to take the stress out of planning a wedding, and most importantly – make it fun!

www.lionsgatecenter.com

Leave a Reply

